The King’s

 

We are the King’s

{Dakota & Drew}

I am new to blogging, but I thought it might be a good way to keep a better journal and record of our lives.

My name is Drew Smuin King. My husband’s name Is Dakota King. We are both from a small town called Vernal, Ut. We have been married for 11 months now (almost a year! WOO!).

Dakota and I grew up knowing each other. When I was in 8th grade my good friends told me that I should like Dakota because he thought I was cute. So naturally, as and 8th grade girl I was totally stoked that an older 9th grader thought I was cute. We started “going out” the end of my 8th grade year and our friendship continued to grow. We soon became best friends and did everything together.

When high school started and I became fresh meat (in our high school sophomore year was the first year you were actually in the high school) of the high school I thought I needed to start dating other people and exploring other options. I broke up with Dakota and told him the typical, ‘I want to still be friends, but I want to go out with other people.’ (I was that annoying girl.) He was not okay with just being friends so our relationship and friendship came to a hault.

He started dating another girl and of course I was crushed. He wasn’t supposed to date anybody else, only I could. 😛 After being sad for a couple days because Dakota was dating another girl, I finally got the courage to text him and tell him that we needed to ‘talk’. He was extremely annoyed at me because he was finally moving on and then I ruined everything, but he is such a good guy so he agreed to go talk with me. He picked me up one day and we drove around while I cried to him about how I made a mistake and that I wanted to be with him again.

Luckily for me, he still loved me and it didn’t take much convincing to get him back. 😉 So, we started dating again and dated all through the rest of my sophomore year and junior year (his junior and senior years) and enjoyed all the memories and adventures of high school together; from dances, to sporting events, to drama, just about anything you could imagine, and through it all we remained best friends.

At the end of his senior year he chose to serve an LDS mission. He left on his mission to Minnesota, Minneapolis on July 10 after graduating in May. Even though it was one of the hardest things I have ever done, I knew that saying bye to him for two years so he could serve a mission was exactly what I needed to do. When the time came that we had to say our final goodbyes, I knew without a doubt that we would end up together.

Over the course of the next two years we emailed weekly and wrote letters. After two year (many hard times and many great times experienced in those two years) he finally returned and it was one of the sweetest days. We saw each other the first time after two years and it was like we had never been apart. We both knew instantly that we wanted to be together forever. On October 23, 2015 we were sealed in the Payson, Ut LDS temple.

Now, almost a year later, after many ups and downs, we have never been happier. I am hoping that through this blog I will be able to create and express the joys, hardships, and blessings of marriage and life because it is such a beautiful thing to capture. ❤

Leave a Reply

