Week #1

One of my New Year’s goals this year is to complete 52 weeks of questions to build basically a simple autobiography. I saw this journal entry challenge on Facebook and decided that it would be really fun! So.. here goes week #1!

What is your full name? Why did your parents give you that name?

My full name is Rachel Drew Smuin. When I was born my parents couldn’t decide on a name. My dad wanted my name to be Drew, but my mom thought it was a boy name. So, compromising they decided to use ‘Drew’ as a middle name. My dad hoping that’s what I would be called, and my mom hoping that’s not what I would be called. Lol. For the first week of my life, even in the newspaper of newborn announcements, I was named Samantha Drew Smuin. After a week, my parents decided to change my name to Rachel Drew Smuin instead.

I’m not exactly sure where the name ‘Drew’ came from. But, I know that ‘Rachel’ was the name of my mom’s bosses daughter and they both really liked it. So, that is where ‘Rachel’ came from. I honestly have no clue why they ever thought ‘Samantha’. Haha. Now, 20 years later, I have never ever been called Rachel. Not ever. I have gone by Drew for my whole life and I definitely think ‘Drew’ fits me more. That’s for sure. My whole life has been kind of complicated in the name department. Everybody knows me and calls me by Drew, but all my legal documents are under Rachel. Every year of school and every new teachers, I would have to go through the hassle of telling all my teachers that I go by my middle name. Every time I go to the doctor, or pick up prescriptions, or do any legal paperwork of any sort I have to remember that my name is Rachel. 😛 Haha I think sometimes people think I’m a little nuts because they ask me what my name is and I say “it’s either under Rachel, or Drew. I’m not sure.’

Even though my name is kind of a hassle sometimes, I love my name and how it has affected who I am as a person. I have a lot of pride in my namesake and love that my name describes who I am. Now, after nearly a year of marriage, I still have legally changed my last name. Partly because it’s such a pain to fill out all the paperwork and partly because I’m not exactly sure what I want my name to be changed to. I can’t decide whether to change it to Rachel Drew King or Drew Smuin King. I really don’t want to get rid of my last name because I really want to still have my last name be apart of who I am. I also feel like Rachel Drew is the name my parents gave me, so I love it. However, it would be kind of nice to be able to do all of my legal stuff under the name that  I know and respond to. So, right now I am in a limbo state. 😛 I guess that just means I am lucky to have so many great names to take pride in.

drew

Leave a Reply

