Real Life

Being home this summer we have been able to experience some pretty awesome things. Our eyes have been opened a lot to how incredibly hard our parents work. We have both been so incredibly blessed in our lives- never having to go without, and always getting pretty much everything we ever wanted. That still continues today. We are so lucky to have parents that are so willing to help out when we need it and support us in any and every way that they can.

Growing up means taking on more responsibility and having to do a lot more things on our own- pay for our own bills and what not, ya know? Just the stupid adult stuff. 😛 The more I start realizing how expensive things can be and how fast things can add up, I become more and more grateful for parents that worked so incredibly hard to provide for our family. My mom has always worked so hard to keep the house clean, to set a good example of hard work, loving others, and caring for yourself. She always made the most delicious treats and meals. She worked, she followed us around, and she always made sure we were taken care of in every aspect. Like, that’s freaking exhausting!!! Seriously. People completely underestimate the stress a mother takes on. The older I get and the more wife roles I take on, I become more and more grateful for my mom for putting up with me and providing for me in so many ways for so many years!

When I was in the awful pre-teen years I used to get so embarrassed for people to know that my dad was a plumber. I did everything I could to avoid being seen riding around in his work truck. Now, that is one of the top 5 most embarrassing and regretful things I have ever done/felt. If I could ever go back in time I would be nothing but proud and grateful for my dad and what he does. He is one of the hardest workers I have ever met. He is such a people person and knows how to work well with others. Today I can honestly say that I love to ride around in my dad’s work truck whenever I get the opportunity. I am proud to tell other people what he does. I appreciate more than ever how hard he works and how much he provides for his family.

Because of the incredible parents I have, I have been so blessed and so loved. I have learned so much from them. I will forever be sooo grateful for what they do in life and how they do it. They are the greatest people I know and I am soo proud of who they are.

Real life gets hard sometimes. It can be overwhelming. It can be a slap in the face. But, hard work always pays off. I know that because my parents taught me that and I get to look up to their example every single day. ❤

drew

Leave a Reply

